Why History Matters Career Bulletin Board

Why History Matters Career Bulletin Board

Every year students ask the same question. “Why does history matter?”

Sometimes they are well-meaning and genuine. Sometimes they are just wasting time. Sometimes they are being down-right difficult. But the question comes without fail each year, even if I have already explained.

This year I decided instead of just answering their question, I was going to show them. I created this History Careers Bulletin Board so that my students could see just one aspect of why history matters. These are careers that they could possibly go in that require a knowledge and understanding of history (or geography, as I teach that as well).

This bulletin board has changed the conversation. Now students come to me and say, “Tell me more!” I just had lunch in my classroom with a 9th grader, who told me that she loved history but wanted to work in an office. Did I know of any careers that could put those two interests together? I was thrilled to point this young girl toward a few college options, as well as degrees related to both history and offices. 🙂

Another student spotted the career “Travel Writer” on the bulletin board. She proceeded to research a country that she wanted to visit, discovered that the citizens of this  country struggle to gain access to fresh water, and dreamed of starting a non-profit that would provide the people of this country with tools to access fresh water. She hopes that working for a travel magazine or website someday will give her the opportunity to bring attention to this cause.

If you want to try this Bulletin Board, I have a starter kit with all of the careers for a very reasonable price in my store. Check it out, save some time, and inspire your students!

What do you do to inspire your students to use history in their future?

 

Leave a Reply

