Bulletin Board Idea: Americans Close to Our Hearts

When I started teaching history full-time, I discovered a sad truth. There are very few high school level, content-rich social studies/history bulletin boards. It is horrible. There is very little inspiration out there.

To make matters worse, my school requires that teachers change up their bulletin boards every 6-8 weeks. Because of seasons, that ends up being five or six bulletin boards per year!

Recently I was inspired by Pinterest’s abundance of “African Americans We Love” or “African Americans Close to our Hearts” bulletin boards. While I do put considerable effort into Black History Month in February (and this might be a story for another day), I just really wanted a bulletin board that didn’t have racial preference. So I modified the board to simply “Americans Close to Our Hearts.”

2017-01-06-10-37-35

My board features a variety of Americans in a variety of fields from multiple eras. Including:

  • Theodore Roosevelt
  • Henry Ford
  • Walt Disney
  • Rosa Parks
  • Frederick Douglass
  • Neil Armstrong
  • Meriwether Lewis
  • Madam C.J. Walker
  • Thomas Edison
  • Paul Robeson
  • Booker T. Washington

I definitely felt like I could have added many more people to the list, and likely will in the future, but I was out of room and knew that I needed to keep the list curated.

Hope this board inspires you with your own Valentine’s Day creation!

Leave a Reply

